The insurer's position sounded decisive: the driver had not completed the required testing, so the truck was outside cover when it crashed.

There was a policy endorsement to support that position. There was also a statute that required a different question to be asked.

In Maxwell v Highway Hauliers Pty Ltd [2014] HCA 33, the High Court rejected an attempt to avoid section 54 of the Insurance Contracts Act 1984 (Cth) by treating a driver-testing requirement as a restriction on cover rather than a condition. The decision remains important for businesses receiving an insurance refusal based on something they did, or failed to do, after taking out the policy.

It does not mean that every exclusion can be overcome. It means that an insurer's description of a provision is not the end of the coverage analysis.

01 Two accidents and an unmet testing requirement

Highway Hauliers operated an interstate freight business using prime movers and trailers, including B-double combinations. Its policy covered accidental damage to insured vehicles during the period of insurance.

An endorsement imposed requirements on drivers of B-doubles, including a satisfactory score on a PAQS driver profile test. Two insured vehicles were damaged in separate accidents. Neither driver had undertaken the required testing.

The insurers refused indemnity. They argued that the endorsement defined the circumstances in which cover existed: driving without the required test did not merely breach a condition; it placed the vehicles outside the insured risk.

That distinction mattered commercially. If the insurers were right, section 54 could be avoided by choosing a particular form of policy wording.

The High Court unanimously dismissed the insurers' appeal on 10 September 2014. Its reasons explain why the statutory question could not be answered by the label attached to the endorsement.

02 What section 54 actually does

Section 54 concerns certain acts or omissions occurring after the insurance contract was entered into. It applies where, but for the section, the effect of the contract would permit the insurer to refuse a claim by reason of that conduct.

Under section 54(1), subject to the remaining provisions of the section, the insurer cannot refuse the claim by reason only of that act. Its liability may instead be reduced by an amount that fairly represents the extent to which its interests were prejudiced as a result. An “act” includes an omission, and the section can extend to conduct by the insured or another person.

This is a statutory limit on relying on the conduct to refuse payment. It does not delete the endorsement from the contract or relieve the insured of the need to understand and comply with the policy.

For a disputed claim, the first task is therefore quite specific: identify the act or omission on which the insurer relies, establish when it occurred and examine how it gives rise to the refusal.

03 Why calling it an exclusion did not settle the issue

The section 54 analysis does not turn simply on whether a policy requirement is drafted as a condition or as a restriction on cover.

A provision might be drafted as an obligation, a continuing warranty, a temporal exclusion or a limitation on the defined risk. The drafting choice does not itself decide whether section 54 applies.

Drawing on Antico v Heath Fielding Australia Pty Ltd [1997] HCA 35 and FAI General Insurance Co Ltd v Australian Hospital Care Pty Ltd [2001] HCA 38, the Court directed attention to the insured's actual conduct and the claim being made, rather than the legal character assigned to the reason for refusal.

The insurers' argument concerned the effect of the endorsement on claims for vehicle damage involving untested drivers. Describing the endorsement as a restriction on cover did not itself resolve whether section 54 applied.

04 The facts that made the result possible

The Court identified both the operation of the vehicles by untested drivers and the insured's failure to ensure that its drivers had undertaken the testing. Those acts and omissions occurred during the policy period, after the contract was entered into.

Two concessions were important:

  • Causation. The insurers accepted that the relevant acts could not reasonably be regarded as capable of causing or contributing to the losses. Section 54(2) was therefore not engaged.
  • Prejudice. The insurers accepted that their interests had not been prejudiced by the relevant conduct. There was consequently no reduction under section 54(1) on that basis.

It would be wrong to turn those concessions into a general proposition that driver-testing requirements are irrelevant, or that an operational breach can never affect an insurance recovery. In another claim, the evidence about causation and prejudice may be very different.

What Maxwell establishes is the correct approach to the policy and the statute. The result still depends on the facts.

05 Section 54 is not a cure for every coverage gap

The Court expressly preserved restrictions inherent in the claim itself. These are assessed by reference to the type of insurance contract and the claim actually being made, not simply by accepting the insurer's description of a clause.

For occurrence-based insurance, the insured event must occur within the relevant period. For claims-made liability insurance, the making of the third-party claim is ordinarily central to the coverage trigger, but any contractual extension or deeming provision must also be considered. Discovery-based insurance likewise depends on the discovery that characterises the insured claim.

Section 54 does not simply move an accident into a different insurance year, or deem a third-party demand to have been made earlier than it was.

Late notification requires a separate analysis

A third-party claim made against the insured during the required period is different from the insured's later notification of that claim to its insurer. In an appropriate case, a failure to notify can engage section 54. It is therefore too broad to say that every notification deadline is an inherent restriction that the section cannot affect.

Unnotified circumstances require particular care. In FAI General Insurance Co Ltd v Australian Hospital Care Pty Ltd [2001] HCA 38, the policy contained a contractual provision extending cover to a later third-party claim where the insured became aware of the relevant occurrence and notified the insurer during the insurance period. The case concerned section 54's application to the failure to give that notification. That contractual mechanism must be distinguished from section 40(3), which concerns written notification of facts that might give rise to a claim before cover expires and has its own requirements. Claims, circumstances, policy extensions, notification and renewal dates must be kept distinct.

The Act also does not govern every insurance arrangement. Its application and statutory exclusions should be checked before relying on section 54.

06 Causation and prejudice can change the recovery

Section 54(2) permits an insurer to refuse payment where the relevant act could reasonably be regarded as capable of causing or contributing to the insured loss, subject to sections 54(3), (4) and (5).

Under section 54(3), if the insured proves that no part of the loss was caused by the act, the insurer cannot refuse payment by reason only of that act. Under section 54(4), if the insured proves that some part of the loss was not caused by the act, payment cannot be refused on that ground for that part.

Section 54(5) also protects specified conduct necessary to protect a person's safety or preserve property, and conduct where it was not reasonably possible for the insured or other person not to do the act.

These provisions should not be collapsed into a single “no harm, no foul” rule. The statutory tests differ, and the insured bears the express burden of proving the absence of causation under sections 54(3) and (4).

Prejudice under section 54(1) is another question. It concerns the effect of the conduct on the insurer's interests and the reduction that fairly represents that effect. It is not enough simply to point to a breached provision and assume that the full claim can be rejected.

Depending on the dispute, the evidence may include accident reconstruction, expert causation reports, the opportunity to investigate, lost records or the ability to defend an underlying liability claim. The policyholder's response should address the particular case being advanced, not rely on Maxwell as a slogan.

07 Responding to a refusal based on a policy requirement

If an insurer says a claim falls outside cover because a requirement was not met, obtain the complete policy and the refusal reasons before accepting that conclusion.

  1. Identify the clause. Obtain the schedule, endorsements, relevant wording and any documents incorporated into the contract. Ask which provision is said to permit refusal.
  2. Identify the conduct. Is the insurer relying on an act or omission after the contract was entered into, or on a different feature of the claim? Record the relevant dates.
  3. Separate the coverage trigger from compliance. Distinguish the insured event or third-party claim from testing, consent, operational and notification requirements. The distinction needs legal analysis, not just a heading in the policy.
  4. Address causation and prejudice. Ask what causal contribution or prejudice is alleged and preserve the evidence needed to answer it.
  5. Keep complying. Do not let the coverage dispute create further problems with notification, cooperation, preservation of evidence or settlement-consent requirements. Obtain advice before admissions or a settlement that could affect the insurer's position.
  6. Check time limits and options. Consider the insurer's complaints process, AFCA where its jurisdiction applies, and court remedies. Do not assume a complaint suspends a court limitation period.

For brokers, the decision is also a reminder to explain operational requirements before a loss occurs. A statutory answer to a refusal is not a substitute for arranging suitable cover and communicating the conditions under which the business is expected to operate.

08 The refusal letter is a position, not the final answer

Maxwell remains useful because it requires the insurer and insured to move beyond the label on a clause. The questions are what happened, when it happened, how the policy responds and what section 54 permits the insurer to do about it.

There may still be a valid reason to refuse or reduce a claim. There may also be a statutory answer that the refusal letter does not address.

GopherWood Lawyers advises policyholders on insurance coverage disputes, policy interpretation, claims declinatures and insurance-related commercial litigation. If your insurer relies on an exclusion or an unmet policy requirement, contact GopherWood Lawyers to discuss the policy and the reasons for refusal.

09 Sources and further reading

Reviewed as at 3 November 2026. This article discusses a 2014 judgment, not a new decision. It provides general information and does not constitute legal advice about a particular policy or claim. The AI-generated cover image is illustrative and does not depict the vehicles involved in the case.

  1. Maxwell v Highway Hauliers Pty Ltd [2014] HCA 33, particularly [2]–[8] and [19]–[28]: policy, concessions and the section 54 analysis.
  2. Insurance Contracts Act 1984 (Cth), particularly ss 8–9, 40(3) and 54: application, notification of facts and acts or omissions after entry into the contract.
  3. Antico v Heath Fielding Australia Pty Ltd [1997] HCA 35: attention to the relevant conduct rather than the legal character of the insurer's reason for refusal.
  4. FAI General Insurance Co Ltd v Australian Hospital Care Pty Ltd [2001] HCA 38: section 54 and failure to notify under a contractual provision extending cover to a later third-party claim.